In 2015, a new law in Massachusetts went into effect that requires employers to provide sick leave to their employees. On March 9, 2016, another New England state followed a similar path, as a paid sick leave law was signed in the state of Vermont. Here are a few quick highlights regarding the Vermont state […]Continue Reading →
Posts Tagged 'state laws'
This month, a new bill was signed into law that expands the scope of the Massachusetts Maternity Leave Act. Below is a brief overview of how the Parental Leave Law may impact your business and its employees. General Overview Effective April 7, 2015, employers with 6 or more employees must allow eligible employees — regardless of gender — […]Continue Reading →
Employers take note — the minimum wage in Massachusetts is set to increase on January 1st, 2015. Governor Deval Patrick signed a law on June 26, 2014 that will raise the state’s per hour minimum wage over the next few years: $9 per hour: Beginning January 1st, 2015 $10 per hour: Beginning January 1st, 2016 $11 […]Continue Reading →
How does your company’s Human Resources department find answers to its compliance-related questions? While many of our clients turn to our experienced staff for guidance, we also empower employers with online resources and interactive tools. One of the most popular solutions we provide to help clients is HR360. A number of new features were recently […]Continue Reading →
With a new year quickly approaching, some employers may find that they will be impacted by an increase in their state’s minimum wage rate. In order to ensure that your company is in compliance, please take a moment to review the list below. Minimum Wage Rate Increases Effective on January 1st, 2013, these states have […]Continue Reading →