In 2015, a new law in Massachusetts went into effect that requires employers to provide sick leave to their employees. On March 9, 2016, another New England state followed a similar path, as a paid sick leave law was signed in the state of Vermont.
Here are a few quick highlights regarding the Vermont state law:
- All Vermont employers will be required to provide paid sick leave to their employees
- Vermont employers with six or more employees will be required to provide paid sick leave effective January 1, 2017
- Vermont employers with five or fewer employees will be required to provide paid sick leave effective January 1, 2018.
- Employers must provide up to 24 hours of paid sick time each year to eligible employees for the first two years of applicability. After December 31, 2018, employers will be required to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick time.
- Employers may require a one-year waiting period before allowing employees to use sick leave
- Employers that have PTO policies that meet certain standards will not be required to provide additional paid leave
I hope that you find this brief overview helpful. For a more detailed look at this law, I encourage all clients to login to the CBGconnect portal and download our Compliance Bulletin on this topic.